Erasmus+ European Mobility is a program that enables student and staff mobility between higher education institutions (HEIs) of  28 EU member countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Serbia, Norway, the FYR of Macedonia, and Turkey. To participate in this program HEIs of these countries apply to European Commission to be able to get eligable for  Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE).  International cooperation between HEIs in these countries is established through bileteral student and staff mobility agreements. Erasmus+ European Mobility Programme  provides monthlty grant to the students in order to help them cover their living expenses during their Erasmus mobility period abroad. 

Although the program started in 1987 in Europe, Turkey participated in this program in 2003-2004 academic year through pilot projects. At METU the program has been operated by International Cooperations Office since 2003. Erasmus policy statement of Middle East technical University s given below: