Erasmus Exchange Program

Students must have completed at least one semester of their academic program at the time of application. Applications are received regularly for the following academic year and this means that a 1st year student accepted for Erasmus attends the university abroad (host university) in his/her second year in  Fall or Spring semester.


Students participating in the Erasmus program continue to pay tuition fees at METU, but are exempt from tuition at the host university where they spend their semester/year abroad. Furthermore, students may continue to receive scholarships, grants and loans as if they are in Turkey. Besides, they are eligible for the Erasmus student mobility grant provided by the European Commission through Turkish National Agency. However, it should be taken into consideration that all other expenses including travel expenses between Turkey and the host country, living expenses including accommodation etc. belong to the student. 


Participating in the Erasmus program does not mean the student is transferring to another university. Students can participate in the Erasmus program for a maximum of 12 months. Students must return to METU at the end of the Erasmus period and complete their program at METU. 



2018-2019 Erasmus student mobility grants in Euros (monthly)



Monthly Grant (Euro)


1st and 2nd Group Countries

UK, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Sweden, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway, Germany, Austria, Belgium, France, Cyprus, Netherlands, Spain, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Greece



3rd Group Countries

Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Macedonia, Polond, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia




*Please note that Erasmus students ideally should take 30 ECTS credits per semester and should pass at least 20 ECTS credits. Students who fail to fulfill this condition may be asked to refund the grant that they received during their Erasmus mobility period.


Erasmus Outgoing Student Statistics